Power of Power Walking (on Roman Cobblestone)

February 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

With a pair of solid leather boots and a will to see everything Rome has to offer, walking not only becomes a form of transportation, but a good stamina-builder and workout.

The Fulbright Mid-Year Meeting was held this year at the American Academy in Rome, on top of a hill near Monteverde.

Again, the commission hosted us at the Villa Maria in Largo Berchet, an adorable little hotel in between Trastevere and Monteverde.

MamaKo and I had a fabulous 3 days in Roma, eating delicious meals and burning off calories visiting all things Roman via public transportation or on foot.

Back to the hotel’s location, it is high up a hill.  A Steep hill. With steep staircase sets. My stamina is pretty high, but I felt the sweat forming by the time I got to the top.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SO. MANY. STEPS.

I felt my pants getting more loose with every step I took.  Which is great because I got to enjoy pizza, pasta, panini, and wine for 3 days!

Okay, perhaps, my pants weren’t getting loose, but MamaKo and I trekked all of Rome.

Cobblestone. Brick. Uneven pathways. Lack of sidewalks. Fabulous.

My week two of MT was pushed back due to the Fulbright meeting, not enough space in the suitcase to pack my sneakers, and my wrist being out of commission.  Power walking in Rome was the solution.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/life-style/dieting/2009/03/16/power-walk-this-way-shed-the-pounds-by-pounding-the-streets-115875-21202452/

Up and down steep hills, dodging bad drivers, and trying to catch trams!

 

PS Happy Valentine’s Day to All!!!

 

xOxo Michelle

 

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Power of Power Walking (on Roman Cobblestone) at SkinnyItaly's Blog.

meta